[NEWS] Semak explained why he was removed after the match with Rostov

The head coach of the St. Petersburg “Zenith” Sergei Semak spoke about the incident of receiving a red card after the match against “Rostov”. His words are reported by Match TV.

“I went up to the judge and asked if he saw how they stepped on Claudinho’s leg with spikes. He showed me a red card. He said that I have no right to approach him. I will know,” Semak said.

On July 29, Zenit missed a victory over Rostov. Mateo Cassierra scored in the first half. It is worth noting that this goal was the third for the Colombian striker in the current season of the Russian championship. Earlier, he scored a double against Paris Nizhny Novgorod. In stoppage time, Rostov striker Nikolai Komlichenko equalized from the penalty spot.

Semak headed Zenit in 2018, and from 2013 to 2016 he worked in the coaching staff. Under his leadership, Petersburgers won the Russian Championship five times, the Cup once and the country’s Super Cup four times. Twice Semak was recognized as the best coach of the year.

On August 6, Zenit will play Dynamo Moscow.

Earlier, the ex-player of the Russian national team said that it is necessary to limit the acquisition of Brazilians in the RPL.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *